Monash South Africa (MSA) students participated in the International Conference of Undergraduate Research (ICUR) on the 29th and 30th of September 2015, a global networking event that takes place annually, giving students the opportunity to share key findings on the range of research projects that they are involved in. The conference further allows for critical yet supportive feedback to be given by participants on the research projects presented, and creates a gateway for engagement with an international audience.

The ICUR was initiated in 2013 by students who had the desire to participate in a multi-disciplinary programme that would expand their student experience and give them access to develop their intercultural communication skills.  This exciting programme is both funded and facilitated by a partnership between Monash University and the University of Warwick, which is known as the Monash-Warwick Alliance. The conference connected 400 students from 12 higher education institutions across a number of countries globally, including the UK, Malaysia, the USA, Singapore, Australia, Japan and South Africa.

South Africa was represented by MSA, with nine of our students proudly raising our campus’ flag. This year, the conference delegates were addressed by Professor Darrell Evans, Vice-provost (Learning and Teaching) from Monash University and Professor Christina Hughes, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Teaching and Learning) from the University of Warwick; who were this year’s key note speakers.

The ICUR was an enlightening experience for MSA students, who took this great opportunity as a learning curve to gain international insight and research techniques, reflect on their research projects with the hope of improving, connect with a global network of students, garner communication and leadership tips and tricks as well as showcase the quality of academic work produced by our students.

Well done to the following students for their hard work and participation: Jovana Mandic, Julia Grace Zebango, Ime Vorster, Kundai Mapfinya, Tarryn Rutter, Hyran van Schalkwyk, Thelma Mahapa, Kirsten Smith, Vuyolwethu Ncube.